Saturday, July 23, 2011

Canterbury in the 2011 ITM Cup

After an almost fairytale ending of a very long Super Rugby season for the Canterbury Crusaders and with everyone's attention is on the Tri-Nations, the defending champions (Canterbury) are looking forward to extend its winning runs to four provincial championships in a row. The Cantabrians are without some of its top players (either selected to the All Blacks' World Cup squad or rested after Super Rugby).

The season will be cut-short this year due to the Rugby World Cup hosted by New Zealand.

2011 ITM Fixtures:

Round One (July 17): Auckland 33 vs. 40 Canterbury [Eden Park, Auckland, New Zealand] W (highlights)
Round Two: --BYE--
Round Three (July 23): Canterbury 19 vs. 22 Southland [Rugby Park, Christchurch, New Zealand]* L (highlights)
Round Four (July 27): Wellington 37 vs. 28 Canterbury [Westpac Stadium, Wellington, New Zealand] L (highlights)
Round Five (July 30): Canterbury 42 vs. 15 Manawatu [Rugby Park, Christchurch, New Zealand] W
Round Six: --BYE--
Round Seven (August 5): Tasman 32 vs. 36 Canterbury [Lansdowne Park, Blenheim, New Zealand] W
Round Eight (August10): Canterbury 13 vs. 27 Waikato [Rugby Park, Christchurch, New Zealand] L
Round Nine (August 14): Canterbury 28 vs. 13 Northland [Rugby Park, Christchurch, New Zealand] W
Round Ten: --BYE--
Round Eleven (August 20): Canterbury 27 vs. 0 Taranaki [Rugby Park, Christchurch, New Zealand] W
Round Twelve (August 23): Bay of Plenty 35 vs. 31 Canterbury [Baypark Stadium, Tauranga, New Zealand] L
Round Thirteen (August 27): Otago 16 vs. 29 Canterbury [Forsyth Barr Stadium, Dunedin, New Zealand] W

2011 ITM Cup Regular-Season Record: 6-0-4
[W] - Win
[D] - Draw
[L] - Loss
[*] Ranfurly Shield Defence

Canterbury directly qualified to the Premiership finals after finishing second on the table and they went on to beat this year’s premiers Waikato, 12-3, at Waikato Stadium in Hamilton. Canterbury dynasty played their fourth straight finals in domestic competition and won their fourth straight title (a day before the first year anniversary of the Christchurch Earthquake).

Premiership Finals (September 3): Waikato 3 vs. 12 Canterbury [Waikato Stadium, Hamilton, New Zealand] W

Canterbury Honours:
  • 1977 National Provincial Championship (NPC) Division 1 champions
  • 1983 NPC Division 1 champions
  • 1997 NPC Division 1 champions
  • 2001 NPC Division 1 champions
  • 2004 NPC Division 1 champions
  • 2008 Air New Zealand Cup champions
  • 2009 Air New Zealand Cup champions
  • 2010 ITM Cup champions
  • 2011 ITM Cup champions
  • Ranfurly Shield holder (1927-28, 1931-34, 1935, 1950, 1953-56, 1969-71, 1972-73, 1982-85, 1994-95, 2000-03, 2004-06, 2007, 2009, 2010-2011)

Check Out:

No comments:

Post a Comment

Popular Posts


This content is not yet available over encrypted connections.



This content is not yet available over encrypted connections.