Thursday, September 29, 2011

Philippines in the 2011 Long Teng Cup

The Philippine national football team, a mixed of senior and under-23 representatives, competed for the second time in the Long Teng Cup held in Kaohsiung, Taiwan. The Azkals finished third in last year's inaugural tournament with Ian Araneta as the tournament's leading scorer. This time around, the national team improved their standings and finished second with Emilio Caligdong as the tournament's leading scorer (Caligong is also Long Teng Cup's all-time leading scorer with five goals on his name).

Philippine head coach Michael Weiss used the tournament to prepare the under-23 for the upcoming 2011 Southeast Asian Games. I hope that Filipino bandwagon fans did not put so much expectation on these games. Since the end of last year's AFF Suzuki Cup, stupid bandwagon fans distracted the players from team practices and assumed that the team can beat even the likes of Asian powerhouse Japan.

Anyway, if the Long Teng Cup continues for the years to come, it will be the William Jones Cup version of association football and will perhaps establish a healthy regional rivalry with Hong Kong and Taiwan.

Azkals squad for the 2011 Long Teng Cup (Courtesy of Filipino Football):
  1. Aly Borromeo, Defender, Kaya FC, Captain
  2. Emelio Caligdong, Midfielder, Philippine Air Force FC, Vice-Captain
  3. Phil Younghusband, Forward, Loyola Meralco Sparks FC
  4. James Younghusband, Midfielder/Defender, Loyola Meralco Sparks FC
  5. Mark Hartmann, Forward, Loyola Meralco Spraks FC
  6. Matthew Hartmann, Midfielder, Loyola Meralco Sparks FC
  7. Jeff Christiaens, Midfielder, Torhout KM, Belgium
  8. Carlos De Murga, Defender, Racing Club Portuense , Spain 
  9. Roland Muller, Goalkeeper, MSV Duisburg, Germany
  10. Lemuel Unabia, Defender, Green Archers United FC
  11. Raymark Fernandez, Defender, University of the Philippines
  12. Neckson Leonora, Defender, Pachanga FC
  13. Oliver Poetschke, Midfielder, BFC Preussen Berlin, Germany
  14. Angel Guirado, Forward, Global FC 
  15. Jason De Jong, Midfielder, FC Dordrecht, Netherlands
  16. Misagh Bahadoran, Forward, Global FC
  17. Roel Gener, Defender, Philippine Army FC 
  18. Eduard Sacapaño, Goalkeeper, Philippine Army FC
  19. Lexton Moy, Midfielder, Kaya FC
  20. Ian Araneta, Forward, Philippine Air Force FC
Head Coach: Michael Weiss (Germany)

Philippines schedule:
  • Hong Kong 3 vs. 3 Philippines (September 30)
  • Chinese Taipei 0 vs. 0 Philippines (October 2)
  • Philippines 2 vs. 0 Macau (October 4)

Win-Loss Record: 1-2-0

Philippines at the Long Teng Cup:
2010: 3rd place
2011: 2nd place

See Also: 

No comments:

Post a Comment

Popular Posts


This content is not yet available over encrypted connections.



This content is not yet available over encrypted connections.