ShareThis

Sunday, August 18, 2013

Warning to Smartphone Users!

I'm a smartphone user myself and I would like to share this to everyone.

This is about your privacy and protecting your e-mails, passwords, photos and videos.


Mobile users of smartphones have far less privacy than might be imagined. Smart phones allow various parties to monitor not only web surfing, but also email, app usage and physical location. There are so many ways to track a user. The phone service provider knows exactly where you are, and which websites you are visiting. 

The app vendors in many cases know all of your traffic, some of your passwords, and your location. There are advertising networks for mobile apps, just as there are for websites, that share information about you. In the future this will get even worse when smartphones become virtual credit cards. 

There's also this warning posted around the social media before. Although, there are misinformation blogs and websites out there that tried to play down the dangers of this warning. If you got a basic knowledge in technology and social media then this warning is basically nothing for you. You already know what to do.

Warning if you take photos with your cell phone of your kids, grand kids, elderly family members -- WATCH THIS!

This is truly alarming - please take the time to watch this video, AND TAKE THE RECOMMENDED PRECAUTIONS. At the end they'll tell you how to set your phone so you don't run this risk!

PLEASE PASS THIS INFO TO ANYONE YOU KNOW WHO TAKES PICTURES WITH THEIR CELL OR SMART PHONE AND POSTS THEM ONLINE. Be sure to share with all your family and friends. This is important info, about what your posting pictures/info on your cell phones can do TO YOU!!! Too much technology out there these days so beware...........

I had no idea this could happen from taking pictures on the blackberry or cell phone. It's scary.


Pictures you've e-mailed or uploaded from your smartphone could leak information that can threaten your safety or that of your children.

Anyway, the video is quite old but it doesn't mean we just ignore the risk.

Most smartphone users use the GPS location services to power maps, driving directions, phone locators, and other handy applications, but most users are not aware that the same technology may pose a risk to their safety and privacy by recording precise geographical information in the photos they take (the feature is called "geotagging"). Geotagging is the process of adding geographical identification metadata to various media such as a geotagged photograph or video, websites, SMS messages, QR Codes or RSS feeds and is a form of geospatial metadata. This data usually consists of latitude and longitude coordinates, though they can also include altitude, bearing, distance, accuracy data, and place names.

The solution: Some techno-geeks suggested that if you want to share your photos or videos on-line (publicly) . . . simply disable or turn your GPS or Geotagging feature off your smartphone device.


*****






No comments:

Post a Comment

Popular Posts

Gadget

This content is not yet available over encrypted connections.

Twitter

Gadget

This content is not yet available over encrypted connections.