Monday, September 30, 2013

The Philippines in the R. William Jones Cup

This post is one of the continuations of the blog post: Philippine National Team Records in Official Tournaments.

The R. William Jones Cup is another tournament where the Philippines had a success and a history. This invitational tournament was named after one of FIBA’s founding fathers, Renato William Jones and was founded two years prior to the death of the said basketball patriarch.

The Philippines captured seven medals in the tournament including four gold medals.

In 1981, the original NCC squad, featuring 1979 NBA draftee Ricardo Brown, captured the Philippines’ first ever Jones Cup title. In 1985, the second generation of the NCC squad (featured Allan Caidic, Samboy Lim, Hector Calma as well as Arthur Engelland, Jeff Moore and Dennis Still) captured the country’s second title. In 1998, the Philippine Centennial Team won the country’s third William Jones Cup title with Caidic as the only Filipino player to win two Jones Cup title.

San Miguel Philippines celebrate the 1985 William Jones Cup triumph [Allan Caidic (#8), Arthur Engelland (#10)]

In 1999, the Philippines failed to defend its title and withdrew from the tournament after a brawl erupted in the game against the host nation Taiwan.

In 2005 and 2007, the Chot Reyes-coached national teams captured the bronze medal and emulated by Rajko Toroman’s Smart Gilas Pilipinas in 2011. In 2008, the host nation refused the Philippine entry (Harbour Centre) for that year’s tournament preferring an all-pro PBA-backed national team but the Philippines decided not to send a team instead.

In 2012, Chot Reyes’ Gilas Pilipinas won the country’s fourth William Jones Cup title with LA Tenorio named as tournament’s MVP. Chot Reyes also became the winningest Filipino in William Jones Cup tourney with two titles (he was Tim Cone’s assistant in 1998) and three bronze medal finished. In 2013, the Philippines once again was not able to defend its title for the second time due to a political and diplomatic crisis between Taiwan and the Philippines.

Here are the official record of the Philippine National Basketball Team in one of Asia's most prestigious tournaments, the Renato Williams Jone Cup (Jones Cup for short).

Appearances: Incomplete Data
Medals: 7 medals (4 gold medals, 3 bronze medal)
Best Finished: Gold (1981, 1985, 1998, 2012), Bronze (2005, 2007, 2011)
Win-Loss Record: Incomplete Data (missing results)

Ricardo Brown in 1981 Jones Cup
1977: 5th place
1978: 8th place
1979-1980: Philippines represented by Filipino clubs

1981: 1st place (gold) [vs. France, 60-49; vs. New Zealand, 73-55; vs. University of Canada (Canada), 91-58; vs. Taiwan, 74-44; vs. US Midwest (USA), 86-85; vs. Ekman (Sweden), 73-68]

1982-1984: Philippines represented by Filipino clubs

1985: 1st place (gold) [vs. Steiner Optik (West Germany), 82-61; vs. Canada, 69-58; vs. Italy, 96-75; vs. South Korea, 108-86; vs. Sweden, 70-59; vs. Taiwan, 80-66; vs. Uruguay, 64-57; vs. United States, 108-100]

1986: Philippines record unknown
1987: 8th place [vs. Malaysia, 84-86; vs. United States, 62-80]
1988-1997: Philippines record unknown

1998: 1st place (gold) [vs. Saudi Arabia, 78-60; vs. Japan, 90-87; vs. Thailand, 84-34; vs. Costa Rica, 83-72; vs. South Korea U-22, 96-77; vs. Chinese Taipei, 82-72]

1998 Philippine Centennial Team

1999: 8th place [vs. Costa Rica, 58-70; vs. Bahrain, 91-74; vs. Chinese Taipei, 42-66*] - Iloilo Megavoltz (MBA)

2000: 4th place [vs. Chinese Taipei, 85-102; vs. Hong Kong, 87-52; vs. Malaysia, 83-58; vs. Japan, 93-82; vs. New Zealand, 37-67; vs. Chinese Taipei, 73-83] - Laguna Lakers (MBA)

2001: 4th place [vs. Victoria University (Canada), 82-72; vs. Chinese Taipei, 79-84; vs. Mongolia, 97-70; vs. South Africa, 95-67; vs. South Korea, 88-97; vs. Honduras, 90-85; vs. Lokomotive Novosybirsk (Russia), 71-81]

2002: 5th place [vs. Lokomotive Novosybirsk (Russia), 78-68; vs. University of Alberta (Canada), 83-84; vs. Chinese Taipei, 70-79; vs. South Korea (military), 97-92; vs. Australian Great Mates, 91-96; vs. Sina Lions (China), 80-75; vs. Japan, 63-65] - MBA All-Stars

2003: -not held due to SARS crisis-

2004: 8th place [vs. Taiwan White, 83-114; vs. Japan U24, 68-84; vs. Germany (International Basketball Academy), 101-50; vs. Taiwan Blue, 68-88; vs. Perth Wildcats (Australia), 79-119; vs. South Korea (University All-Stars), 65-83; vs. Carleton University (Canada), 70-85; vs. Qatar, 70-80] - Cebuana Lhuillier (NBL)

2005: 3rd place (bronze) [vs. Qatar, 82-71; vs. Kazakhstan, 82-74; vs. South Korea, 79-75; vs. India, 107-69; vs. Australian Institute of Sports (AIS), 76-80; vs. Japan, 76-72; vs. Samara CSK (Russia), 91-78; vs. Chinese Taipei, 76-82; vs. Passing Lane (USA), 96-99]

2006: 6th place [vs. Qatar, 63-68; vs. Chinese Taipei, 72-77; vs. South Korea (University All-Stars), 88-96; vs. Australia U19, 76-67; vs. Kazakhstan, 86-91; vs. Athletes in Action (USA), 68-91; vs. Japan U24, 112-86; vs. Australia U19, 69-67; vs. Kazakhstan, 86-98]

2007: 3rd place (bronze) [vs. Athletes in Action (USA), 72-67; vs. Lebanon, 62-65; vs. Japan University Team, 84-86; vs. South Korea, 88-84; vs. Jordan, 70-74; vs. Iran, 89-79; vs. Chinese Taipei, 82-64; vs. Qatar, 88-80; vs. Kazakhstan, 90-107]

2008: Did Not Participate***

2009: 6th place [vs. Jordan, 59-90; vs. Chinese Taipei, 77-86; vs. Kazakhstan, 85-67; vs. Japan, 85-87; vs. Lebanon, 83-95; vs. South Korea, 80-83; vs. Chinese Taipei B, 94-90; vs. Iran, 60-85]

2010: 4th place [vs. Chinese Taipei B (University All-Stars), 83-52; vs. Iran, 68-81; vs. Australian Crocs, 90-64; vs. Chinese Taipei, 96-93; vs. Japan, 74-84; vs. Lebanon, 62-73]

2011: 3rd place [vs. Iran, 73-59; vs. Chinese Taipei, 90-78; vs. Jordan, 72-76; vs. Malaysia, 86-68; vs. South Korea, 70-78; vs. United Arab Emirates, 95-60; vs. Japan, 94-78; vs. Iran, 59-78; vs. Chinese Taipei, 82-72]

2012: 1st place (gold) [vs. Jordan, 98-88; vs. Taiwan B, 99-68; vs. KGC (South Korea), 82-79; vs. Japan, 88-84; vs. Lebanon, 71-91; vs. Iran, 77-75; vs. Taiwan, 76-72; vs. UPG (USA), 76-75]

2013: Did Not Participate****

[*] Games versus non-national teams (selections, professional clubs, national age-groups and academies)
[**] The Philippines withdrew from the tournament after three games due to the court brawl between the Philippines and Taiwan. The early withdrawal means the defending champion finished last in 1999.
[***] The organizers refused to accept the Harbour Centre-sponsored Philippine national team as the Philippine representative for the 2008 William Jones Cup. The organizers thought that having a PBA-sponsored national team will generate more money as it will attract more Filipino crowds in Taiwan. In response, the Philippines decided not to send a delegation for the 2008 tourney.
[****] The invitation for the Philippines to defend its title was withdrawn by the host Taiwan due to the on-going political and diplomatic tensions between the two basketball rivals
[-] The Philippines was represented by PBA-sponsored national teams in 1998, 2005-2007, 2009 and 2012, by MBA-sponsored national team in 2002, and by MBA clubs in 1999-2001.


For more... check out Philippine National Team Records in Official Tournaments.


No comments:

Post a Comment

Popular Posts


This content is not yet available over encrypted connections.



This content is not yet available over encrypted connections.